The British Royal Title That Queen Elizabeth Banned

The British royal family is full of titles, such as the late Prince Philip being the Duke of Edinburgh and Prince Andrew as the Duke of York. There's also Prince Edward as the Earl of Wessex, and Prince Harry and Meghan Markle being the Duke and Duchess of Sussex (via Woman & Home).

However, there is one such title that Queen Elizabeth II has banned, due to a scandalous romance between King Edward VIII and Wallis Warfield Simpson. Simpson was an American socialite who ended up being divorced twice, with two living ex-husbands, which was frowned upon by the royal family, the Church of England, and British politicians. However, Edward and Wallis wanted to be together.

After Edward's father, King George V, died in 1936, Edward became king. Wallis received a preliminary decree of divorce from her then-husband, in hopes of being able to marry Edward before his coronation, as noted by History.

Queen Elizabeth banned the title Duke of Windsor

King Edward VIII was in love with Wallis Warfield Simpson, but because she had already been divorced and then was married when she met Edward, no one really thought she was a suitable option to become queen.

As a result, a first-time event happened in 1936: Edward became the first monarch in Britain's history to voluntarily abdicate the throne. In a radio address, he said, "I have found it impossible to carry on the heavy burden of responsibility and to discharge the duties of king, as I would wish to do, without the help and support of the woman I love." He chose love over this position! This led to his brother becoming King George VI, and King George VI gave the former king the title Duke of Windsor. On June 3, 1937, Edward tied the knot with Wallis Simpson (via History).

However, due to the fallout from the scandalous relationship between Edward and Wallis, as noted by British Heritage Travel, Queen Elizabeth II banned the title Duke of Windsor from being given to another royal ever again.