What Your Zodiac Sign May Reveal About Your Health?

Your weekly horoscope may be the deciding factor on finally asking for that raise or pursuing a new love interest, but are you open to using your astrological sign to help diagnose your medical ailments? Medical astrology, known as Iatromathematics in ancient Greek medicine, involved doctors calculating the positions of the planets to help determine a patient's medical condition. Medical astrology is the belief that each astrological sign is associated with specific parts of the body and responsible for the health of certain organs and systems inside the body (via Stars Sign Style). 


According to astrologer Judith Hill, passing astrological exams was required for doctors to practice medicine until 1666, and although a doctor today will rarely ask your sign, some naturopaths and holistic doctors still integrate medical astrology into their practice (per Refinery29). Hill explains that the first sign of the zodiac, Aries, starts the astrological map of the body at the head down to the last sign, Pisces, at the feet. Although entertaining and may even be eerily on point, it's important to remember that your zodiac sign should not determine your medical care.

Aries, Taurus, and Gemini rule the upper body

Those born under Aries, the first sign of the zodiac, rule the head, brain, and face, leaving Aries predisposed to sinusitis, headaches, baldness, and even teeth afflictions. The Ram is always on a high energy vibe and in need of constant stimulation, and when stagnant too long, may become anxious or depressed from self-imposed stress (per AstrologyCom.com). 


Next in line is the Taurus, which governs the neck, ears, and throat, and is prone to colds, sore throats, and earaches. While Taureans are typically in good health due to their balanced relationship with their bodies, The Minds Journal reports that medical conditions commonly occur within the bull's ruling areas. Additionally, professional astrologer Suzanne Gerber tells Reader's Digest that a Taurus is very sensitive to climate change. 

The third zodiac sign, Gemini, rules the shoulders, arms, lungs, and nervous system, and AstrologyCom.com reports that sadly, the twin sign is prone to having two ailments at once. Respiratory and neck problems are said to plague the Gemini, along with nervous system disorders, both physically and emotionally.


Cancer, Leo, and Virgo govern the torso

Cancer, aka the crab, is the fourth sign of the zodiac, governing the breast, chest, and stomach areas. According to Healthline, Cancers are highly emotional, and may suffer from depression and digestion conditions, which often intertwine for them. When the crab is depressed, he may eat, when he eats, he may get depressed, and according to The Minds Journal, this emotional roller coaster can lead to gastrointestinal issues, as well as eating disorders.


The mighty lion, Leo, rules the heart, chest, and back, and while The Minds Journal reports that the fifth zodiac is generally of good health due to the sun's effects, Healthline advises the lions to take extra care of their cardiovascular systems, as they can be burdened with blocked arteries, hypertension, and heart disease.

Rounding out the torso at number six is the Virgo who, according to AstrologyCom.com, has a unique resistance to disease. The virgins rule the abdomen and intestines, with a tendency to have bowel and digestive issues, weight problems, and eating disorders.

Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces rule the bottom of the body

Although number seven in the zodiac, Libras are not lucky in the health department. According to Horoscope.com, the sign of the scales governs the kidneys, lower back, and the skin, and might often feel an ache in that lower back area. Healthline reports that Libras are also plagued with digestive problems like IBS, and sensitive skin that may require extra hydration.


Scorpios rule the sex organs, which tend to be their biggest joy as well as their biggest pain. The eighth zodiac sign governs the bladder, genitals, ovaries, testes, and their libido is theirs, as described by The Minds Journal, the Scorpio's ultimate power. That power, depending on how it's used, is the cause of diseases surrounding the genitals (via Healthline).

While generally of good health, the Sagittarius tends to be accident-prone. Ruling the eyes, hips, thighs, and liver, the ninth zodiac sign symbolized by an archer or centaur, has a restless spirit and Reader's Digest reports problems may occur with the hips, sciatic nerve, and eyes.

Capricorn Aquarius and Pisces rule the bottom of the body

According to Healthline, Capricorns hold a double-edged sword when it comes to their health. The tenth zodiac sign, ruler of the skeletal system, bones, and joints, generally has strong bones and good posture, but can also suffer from fragile bones, especially from the knee down (via Horoscope.com).


Moving toward the bottom of the body, Aquarians govern the lower legs, ankles, and circulatory system. The Aquarius may be graceful and balanced, but astrologer Suzanne Gerber tells Reader's Digest that the eleventh zodiac sign is "...prone to sprains and strains in these areas, as well as edema, varicose veins and blood-flow issues." 

Last we have the Pisces, the twelfth sign of the zodiac, ruler of the nervous system, feet, and toes, who tends to be afflicted with all foot related ailments and injuries (via AstrologyCom.com). According to The Minds Journal, the sensitive water sign may also experience bouts of insomnia, addiction, and even mental illnesses.